Scottish council elections 2022: Hour-by-hour guide on when results will be announced

Voters in Scotland head to the polls today to elect 1,227 councillors across the country in 32 councils.

Polling stations are set to open as usual at 7am and will shut to voters at 10pm.

Candidates have been campaigning on a number of issues over the last couple of months ahead of the eagerly anticipated election to control council chambers.

Unlike normal elections the votes cast will be counted the morning after with the majority starting between 8.30am and 9.30am on Friday, May 7.

It means we won’t get results until around lunchtime with the first expected to be Moray Council at around 12.30pm, while Renfrewshire Council will declare at around 5.30pm.

We will bring you all the latest results in our live election blog throughout the day.

What time the results be announced?

Here are the predicted declaration times for each council area in Scotland:

12pm to 1pm

Moray 12:30

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar 13:00

Orkney Islands 13:00

Perth & Kinross 13:00

Shetland Islands 13:00

2pm to 3pm

Dumfries & Galloway 14:00

Dundee 14:00

East Renfrewshire 14:00

Inverclyde 14:00

Argyll & Bute 14:30

Clackmannanshire 14:30

East Lothian 14:30

Fife 14:30

Scottish Borders 14:30

3pm to 4pm

Aberdeen 15:00

Aberdeenshire 15:00

Angus 15:00

East Ayrshire 15:00

North Ayrshire 15:00

South Ayrshire 15:00

Stirling 15:00

West Dunbartonshire 15:00

West Lothian 15:00

East Dunbartonshire 15:30

Edinburgh 15:30

Falkirk 15:30

North Lanarkshire 15:30

Highland 15:45

4pm to 6pm

Glasgow 16:00

Midlothian 16:00

South Lanarkshire 16:00

Renfrewshire 17:30

To sign up to the Daily Record Politics newsletter, click here.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.